Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

Beginner here "Reading CSD failed... stopping" error

Hello here, I’m relatively new with CSound and also with Cabbage, I was just testing it as I’ll be needing it for school in the near future, cabbage is configured and all the example works flawlessly. However I was testing a basic CSound code snippet and all I get is “Reading CSD failed … stopping”.

ciao1.csd (996 Bytes)

Thank you all in advance for the help and useful pointers. Again I’m a beginner so excuse me if the solution might be obvious.

The file is fine, what’s catching Cabbage out is the fact that Csound stops after 2 seconds. This is because your score statement only tells Csound to run for 2 seconds. I’d recommend using Cabbage to generate a basic file template for you (Options->New->…). It will then generate score statements that will keep your instrument running for a very long time!

p.s. we’re all more than happy to help out any newbies!

Thanks for the fast reply. Anyway I’m still experiencing the same issue. As I select [Option]->[New]->[Instrument] even withouth modifying it I still receive the same message in the end. If I modify them and personalize them i still obtain the same “Reading CSD failed … stopping”. Thinking it might have something to do with privilegies I’m running it as Admin, still the same issue. Example files seems to work with no issues.

For further testing I downloaded the last attachment to this thread (hyperlink on the word thread) and even in this case I have no sound output and if I open the source and go to Save(Update Instrument) I still get the same “Reading CSD failed … stopping”

What operating system and version of Cabbage are you using? It shouldn’t matter what account your are using. Where are you saving the files? Windows is getting a little fussy about where files are saved these days. Best to put them into your Documents folder, although I suspect that’s where they are if you are on Windows.