Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

Fmod 1.09.02 crash on mac

Hey Rory. First, I have to say that I’m a real noob concerning Csound. And I would like to say thank you for your work, it seems great! I watched a few of your videos and I’m very impressed.

I was trying to make a first small plugin for Fmod Studio, but when I tried to add it to an event timeline, Fmod crashed.
I’m on Mac, using Fmod Studio 1.09.023 with Cabbage 1.1.07.

My Cabbage code is:

form caption("Saw") size(400, 300), colour(58, 110, 182), pluginID("def1")
keyboard bounds(8, 158, 381, 95)
rslider bounds(28, 12, 50, 50), channel("Release"), range(0, 1, , 1, 0.1), text("Release")
<CsoundSynthesizer>
<CsOptions>
-n -d -+rtmidi=NULL -M0 -m0d --midi-key-cps=4 --midi-velocity-amp=5
</CsOptions>
<CsInstruments>
; Initialize the global variables. 
sr = 48000
ksmps = 64
nchnls = 2
0dbfs = 1

;instrument will be triggered by keyboard widget
instr 1

iSlider chnget "Release"
kEnv madsr 0.01, 0.2, 0, iSlider
aOut vco2 p5, p4 
outs aOut*kEnv, aOut*kEnv
endin

</CsInstruments>
<CsScore>
;causes Csound to run for about 7000 years...
f0 z
</CsScore>
</CsoundSynthesizer>

I’ll try on my mac later but you should probably remove the keyboard widget, and also the CsOption relating to MIDI. The FMOD plugin will load an orchestra as soon as the timeline reaches it, so in this instance you are better off starting an instrument explicitly in your orchestra. For example, try the code below. It will trigger your synth to play each time the sound plugin is triggered in FMOD.

form caption("Saw") size(400, 300), colour(58, 110, 182), pluginID("def1")
rslider bounds(28, 12, 50, 50), channel("Release"), range(0, 1, , 1, 0.1), text("Release")
<CsoundSynthesizer>
<CsOptions>
-n -d 
</CsOptions>
<CsInstruments>
; Initialize the global variables. 
sr = 48000
ksmps = 64
nchnls = 2
0dbfs = 1

;instrument will be triggered by keyboard widget
instr 1
iSlider chnget "Release"
kEnv madsr 0.01, 0.2, 0, iSlider
aOut vco2 p5, p4