Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

Help! Generating a combobox with information from fluidLoad

Hello, this is my first time posting in this forum :slight_smile:

I am working on a .sf2-player for a friend. I am building it in Cabbage using Csound’s fluidSynth-opcodes. I have currently found a way to select different presets and banks, but this is where my limited experience with both csound and cabbage stops me…

At this moment, I only use a rotary slider to select the different presets from the .sf2-files. This means that there is no way for the user to know what sound is currently selected, and what number the sound he might want is.

The only solution i see to this is that the opcode fluidLoad can output exactly this information. The issue is that it is only output to the terminal. My question then is if there is any way to access this information?

The manual says fluidLoad outputs information about the soundfont in this format:

SoundFont: 1 Bank: 0 Preset: 0 Seagul Acoustic Git

I feel like if it is possible to grab this information in any way, it should not be too difficult to generate a combobox to let the user select the sounds he wants, instead of guessing. Is this even possible in Cabbage?

Thanks on beforehand for reading this, and if anyone could help, I would be really really grateful.

Børge

Here is my project file and my examplse .sf2 if anyone wants to look into it.

Børge

sf2player.csd (1.2 KB)
mcsf2.sf2 (1.9 MB)

I don’t think there is a way to access this information in Csound. I don’t see much information being passed to the console from fluidLoad either? All I get is:

Created fluidEngine 0x000001858A134BD0 with sampling rate = 44100.000000, chorus on, reverb on, channels 256, voices 4096.
Loading SoundFont : mcsf2.sf2.
fluidSynth: 0x000001858A134BD0  soundFontId: 1.