Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

Implementing USB Midi Controller to Control Sliders In Cabbage?

Hi there. I am very new to cabbage and I’m trying to work out how to assign “sliders” to encoders on my midi controller in cabbage. I don’t see it written in the manual that this is possible.

I have no issue controlling when I export my instrument as a VST and midi map she using it in my DAW, but I just want to be able to externally control these pots/sliders as I’m tweaking instruments in the building process. Maybe it’s not possible?

Thanks!:slight_smile:

Sure, you can use the ctrl7 opcodes in Csound if you know the MIDI channel and controller number. For example, the following code will grab the value from MIDI controller 1 on channel 1 and map it to the on-screen slider. I’ve also added a way to override the incoming MIDI stream if you wish to use the on-screen controls instead.

test.csd (566 Bytes)

You will still need to know the number and channel of the MIDI slider. But if you need to get these details it can also be done using Csound. Let me know and I can show you how.

Thanks so much, Rory. I’ll employ this method and see if it works:)

Yeah I’m up and running with midi now. Thanks! I just got Cabbage running on my phone too.

This has got me thinking… would it be possible to get the cabbage phone app and the cabbage computer program to work together on a common task?

For example: I’d like to use the phone app as a simple cabbage X/Y effect controller that would effect a cabbage synth I’ve set up on the mac. The phone would send midi via usb connection (or even bluetooth?). The android X/Y controller would form a component of the synth also, though it would be controlled remotely (sort of like a Korg Kaoss pad). One could then play the synth using a simple midi keyboard connected via usb to the computer.

Could the phone app and osx version of cabbage communicate in this way? I guess not as they’d both be running separate programs.