Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

Processing Audio with inch opcode

Hello,

I’m a beginner to Csound and audio programming, I’m building a synthesizer and audio DSP simulator with Unity, I saw the post on this page: about using “Processing Audio” toggle to send audio buffer with ‘inch’ opcode in CsoundUnity, I actually tried by my self but still don’t really know how to make it works.

So can you explain more detail about how to process and send audio clip using “ProcessAudio” toggle from Audio source to Csound with “inch”? More specifically, what function in C# should I use to send the audio buffers (or I don’t even need a C# script)? How do I set up the channels with “inch” in order to receive audio from Unity? What flags should I use in Csound and what does the Csound codes looks like? Thanks!

There seems to be an issue with this at the moment, I’ll take a look.

I might have mentioned this on another thread, but I rarely ever found the need to process audio clips in this way. I usually just load the audio directly into Csound using a table, or the diskin2. For example, the following instrument will load a file called pianoSample.wav from the Assets/Audio folder and start playing it back.

<Cabbage>
form caption("Test"), size(300, 200)
</Cabbage>
<CsoundSynthesizer>
<CsOptions>
-n -d -m0d
</CsOptions>
<CsInstruments>
sr 	= 	44100 
ksmps 	= 	32
nchnls 	= 	2
0dbfs	=	1 

instr 1
SPath chnget "AudioPath"
SFilename sprintf "%s/pianoSample.wav", SPath
a1, a2 diskin2 SFilename, 1, 0, 1
outs a1, a2
endin

</CsInstruments>
<CsScore>
i1 0 [3600*12]
</CsScore>
</CsoundSynthesizer>

I’ll need to fix the issue with ‘Process Clip’ before you can access mic input.

Cool, let me know when you fix the issue, thanks!

I found the issue and I’m currently working on a fix. I have two possible options. I know which one is best, I’m just not sure how to do it :smirk:
…yet…

No problem:joy: