Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

Using buttons to explore data

Hi, I’m rather new to Csound, and Cabbage. I’m currently attempting to just work through any examples and see how far I can get with it. I have several queries about something I’m trying to work on.

My first query is how to get a sound to be output when a button is pressed? And once I know this, I’m looking to read data, and have the sound output change depending on the relationship of a data set.

My second query is what type of instrument would be good to use if I’m looking to play a continuous note as a data series is read from a file or a table? Also, is there a way of playing specific chords(?), and does it depend on the type of instrument wanting to be output?

My final query is, is there a way of creating an option where different files can be read into the program? So instead of entering the data into a function table and having to change it inside the code, is there a way of essentially uploading it to be read?

Any assistance would be great!:slight_smile:

The simplest way would be to create an instrument that is always playing and then simply test if the button is on or off. For example, if instr 1 is always playing (i1 0 z in the score), it will check the value of the button with channel button1 on each k-cycle. If it is on it will enter the if block of code.

instr 1
   if chnget:k("button1") == 1 then
   //make some sounds here
   endif
endin

It’s very hard to answer that as I have no idea what type of sound you wish to create. A simple sine wave can play continuous data for as long as you like. Any number of synthesis techniques can be used in this situation.

Chords can be created by layering instances of instruments on top of each other. For example, this example will play a chord each time one presses a button.

instr 1
   kButtonValue chnget "button1"
   if changed(kButtonValue) == 1 then
      event "i", 2, 0, 2, 60
      event "i", 2, 0, 2, 64
      event "i", 2, 0, 2, 67