Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

ASCII to MIDI

Hello there! I’m new to Cabbage and I was wondering if it is possible to send ASCII values as MIDI, example, send the letter “r” to a channel, so it can be interpreted to do something.

Greetings,
Slobodan

You can send text using the text editor widget. Then use that to trigger MIDI events, but if a little clunky. However, most DAWs do this out of the box?

Yes, but I don’t think you can program in DAWs, as long as I know. The text editor I have to erase every time I would like to send something different. So, Is there like keyboard MIDI Channel? Idk, maybe I’m not explaining so well. What I’m planning to do in a simple example is:

ON Open Plugin -> Press key “c” to Change type of Oscillator. (without using any widget, is there any MIDI channel for this)

Thank you.

I understand what you’re getting at, but I’m not sure this is possible. Perhaps some hosts allow mapping of ASCII characters to MID? The problem is that even if you could do this with a Cabbage plugin, as soon as you closed the plugin editor window it would no longer work, as the plugin would no longer be grabbing keystrokes. I think this is something that needs to be done at the DAW top level. Alternatively, you could run another Csound or Pd in the background and have it send MIDI messages to whatever DAW you have running? Seems like overkill, but it would probably work.

1 Like

Good to know. Thank you!

@rorywalsh I found this LINK that I was reading, about the midi inputs and ASCII values, and I notice that in Cabbage you have to use -"+rtmidi=NULL" instead of “-+rtmidi=virtual”. It is possible to receive MIDI inputs as that link says in Cabbage?

Greetings!

Of course. All midi messages are automatically sent to Cabbage. You can interpret them using any of Csound’s midi opcodes. The use of NULL in the CsOptions midi flag is to stop Csound from trying to open any midi devices, which might cause problems with host applications.

1 Like