Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

Handpan synth - Ever-increasing CPU usage

Hi everyone,

I’ve been tinkering with Csound for a few months, trying to learn by hacking, but finally decided to ask for help here :slight_smile:

I’ve been working on a handpan synth to play with a pad controller. I found a great patch through this linuxmusicians thread (hosted on http://juliencoder.de/sound/index.html). After trying to reproduce it in languages that I know better (mostly Pure data) and failing to reach the same sound quality, I am now building a VST plugin with Cabbage to use this synth in a DAW, ideally with presets for each scale (the initial patch requires editing/commenting out the giNotes variable definitions).

Here is what I have so far: handpan_cabbage_test.csd (12.6 KB)

However, even before trying to switch scales, I’m noticing that the CPU usage increases slightly with each MIDI note I play, eventually causing performance issues and dropouts. This happens both in CsoundQt and in Cabbage.
Following advice from this form thread, I’ve implemented an always-on instrument which is confirming that kinstr is increasing with every MIDI note played (and never decreasing), so one instrument seems to be running forever while also being re-triggered for every note.

As far as I could see from various csound tutorials and manuals, the instrument setup for this handpan is not really following the standard way of defining an instrument. The way I understand it:

• When the patch starts, the "Setup" instrument is triggered with a duration of 0.1s
  • Setup reads the number of notes in giNotes[] and creates one (always-on?) Tine instrument and one Resonator for each iNote.
  • upon MIDI input, a Strike instrument is created for the note, which again uses the corresponding Tine and Resonator instrument instances.