Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

My VST doesn't load on Cubase

Hello,

I’m new in Cabbage. Looks very promising, but my exported VSTs don’t load on Cubase (10.5.20 on Windows 10).
For now I exported the examples MIDI_Monitor and MIDI_Delay (as VST Effects), just to test. I put the .dll/.vst and .csb files in my VST folder, Cubase sees them well in its plugins, but when I try to add one on a track, nothing happens (the effect slot leaves empty). I tried VST2 and VST 3, same thing.
What am I doing wrong ?

I’m not sure if I have to tell to Cubase where to look at CSound. In the doubt, I added the Csound6_x64/bin directory to the list of scanned folders in Cubase, but Cubase says they are 32 bit plugins (!?), so it can’t use them.

Thanks,

Matthieu

Hmmm, that seems strange. You should not have to scan your Csound6_x64 folder. This is gonna be a little difficult as I don’t have cubase but my advice would be to 1, you exported synths. Sometimes I missclick and export effects and 2, create a folder whithin your vst folder and whithin that folder put every element in your plugin. Dll, csd, wav, and any other assets used in your synth.

Hope that helps!

Correct.

And @AveAcsent is right, that you should export them as synths rather than effects. I just tested the MIDI monitor example here and it works as expected, although it should display a bar graph of the MIDI info, which it is not doing, but it still identifies the notes…

Thank you for the precision about CSound6_64 folder.
Concerning synth vs effect : I need my plugin to be an effect. If it’s a synth (which I had tried), Cubase doesn’t see it when I want to insert a new effect on effects slots.

I’m not sure I follow. I tested yesterday with Cubase and it worked fine? But maybe I need to try again?

By the way, when I export in Synth, in Cubase I can add it as an instrument track, but then I can’t open it’s interface.

What version of Cabbage are you using?