Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

Noob question about instruments & toggling effects

Hey everyone, noob here

I am doing an effect plugin that has multiple effects that can be toggled on and off by buttons.
In order to do that, i am doing an instrument for each effect, and apply the ‘signal processing’ to the output if the button channel value is toggled on.

Example :

a1,a2	ins
    kporttime	linseg	0,0.001,0.01
    kfold	portk	kfold,kporttime

if kBitcrushButton==1 then
        a1	LoFi	a1,kbits*0.6,kfold
        a2	LoFi	a2,kbits*0.6,kfold
        a1	=	a1 * klevel
        a2	=	a2 * klevel
    endif        
    outs	a1,a2

I feel like my logic is wrong, because it seems too sketchy for a simple toggle of an effect.
Also, it creates an issue.
Because i have 1 instrument for each effect, i run them all in my CsScore like :

<CsScore>lo
    ;causes Csound to run for about 7000 years...
    f0 z
    f1 0 1024 10 1

i2 0 [60*60*24*7] 
    i3 0 [60*60*24*7] 
    i4 0 [60*60*24*7] 
    i5 0 [60*60*24*7] 
    i6 0 [60*60*24*7] 
</CsScore>

And i think it’s multiplying the audio, because when i test my plugin in my Daw, it adds 12dB to the audio !

Thanks for reading me, I’d appreciate if someone could help me.

Nobody can answer that simple logic question ?

You have to give us some time. Users on this group span many different time zones. Don’t worry, you’ll always get a reply. In fact, I challenge you to find a single post to this group that didn’t receive a timely and prompt reply.

Seems like a perfectly good approach to me. I would go one further and put the if kBitCrushButton at the very top of the instrument so Csound doesn’t need to waste resources on calling portk or linseg if they are not needed.

Outputting signals from 5 instruments will result is the signals being summed. So you should scale them back. You can simply multiple the outputs by .2 in this case.