Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

Simulating water using vocoder?

Hi, I’m looking into whether it’s viable to use FMOD Studio with Cabbage plugins to create custom sound effects for a Unity game. (I know there’s a direct Unity integration too, but Fmod offers a lot of extra versatility in general, I think.) I’m completely new to Cabbage, Csound and low level sound programming in general.

The reason I stumbled upon Cabbage in the first place is because I saw this video about how to simulate rain or streaming water using a vocoder effect used on white noise:

After installing Cabbage, I tried to see if I could replicate it using the example vocoder in Cabbage. I tried using matching settings for bands and how they’re spaced, and modified the effect so Bandwidth could go beyond 100% like in the video.

However, where the effect in the video gets really interesting is using the gate functionality to emulate control of the “number of water drops”. This can be used to make the sound of just a few water drops dripping infrequently. That, and all the way up to a heavy torrent of water.

In Cabbage’s vocoder there is a “Gate Input” toggle but in my case it makes no difference to the sound and there is no slider anyway for what the gate value is, as far as I can tell. So I didn’t manage to replicate the effect.

Is such gate functionality something that could be handled by a different plugin chained after the vocoder, or would it have to be built into the vocoder effect itself? (As you can tell, I currently have no idea how any of this works.) There probably isn’t much chance of me being able to add it to the vocoder plugin myself, given I have no experience with this type of programming or audio signal engineering.

Thanks for your time!
Rune

Interesting video. I am not that familar with the gate functionality of the @iainmccurdy’s vocoder example. Maybe he can offer some advise on this :slight_smile: