Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

Summing audio signals in while loop causes strange sounds (sounds like FM?)

Hi :slight_smile: ,

I am very new to CSound and Cabbage. Both programms so far have been amazing. I made a few synths that I am starting to be very happy with.
I am trying to build a supersaw synthesiser, and I made an example of the problem I have with a synth I am making. I got two oscilators to detune with the following code:

instr 1
    iFreq = p4
    iGain = p5
    iDetune = 2
    aSig1 vco2 iGain, iFreq + iDetune
    aSig2 vco2 iGain, iFreq - iDetune
    aOut = aSig1 + aSig2
     outs aOut, aOut
endin

But the problem with this snippet is that I don’t want to hardcode the oscilators.
I want to have a slider in my GUI to select the amount voices to use for the supersaw.
So I made a loop that makes an oscilator for every voice.
The problem with the following code snipped is that it does not sound like a detuned saw, but rather a strange digital sound. Can someone explain to me why it makes this sound, and how I should go about generating oscilators?

instr 1
    iFreq = p4
    iGain = p5
    iDetune = 2
    iVoices = chnget("voices") ; =2

aOut = 0 ; maybe the initiation goes wrong?
    kIndx  = 0

until kIndx == iVoices do 
      aSig vco2 iGain, iFreq + iDetune * kIndx
      aOut += aSig
      kIndx += 1
    od

out aOut, aOut ; strange fm sound?
endin

Thank you very much in advance for the effort.
~ Cheers

Running a loop like this won’t work because Csound does not create a new vco2 each time it runs through the loop. If you have arrived at Csound from any other programming language you will find this quite odd! But there are ways around it. The most common one being a recursive UDO. Here is an example of a SuperWas type thing as a UDO:

giSine ftgen 1, 0, 4096, 10, 1

opcode SuperSaw,a,kkkO 
   iDetune random 0, 1
   kAmp, kFreq, iNum, iCnt xin 
   aSig vco kAmp/iNum,kFreq+iDetune, 1, 0, giSine
   iCount = iCnt+1 
   if iCount < iNum then