Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

Transient shaper algorithm

Hi,

I am currently working on a plugin and I need to be able to edit transients. I studied the theory behind transient shaping, and to implement that I would need to be able to code an envelope follower

Here is an extract of my researches around the topic:

Basically, once you have two envelopes (same release times but different attack times), you can substract them and then use the difference to boost/reduce the original signal.

I coded a basic implementation with Cabbage and it works very well on plain drums, but when you use it with more complex audio files it sounds horrible: the resulting waveform over-saturates & become really messy.

I have two questions regarding the algorithm behind:

- Do you know how I could edit the envelope so it has more logarithmic/exponential/linear slopes? I am not sure about how to do it… maybe by simply computing the exponential/logarithm of the follow2 result? Or I can multiply the envelope by the signal and then apply filters (I saw plugin makers using RC filters to smooth the result)

- Do you know why the song saturates? I tried to balance the signal after & before the multiplication without success…

Here are the steps involved:

Here are the top 2 resources I found about this subject:

Thanks for your help and have a nice day :slight_smile:

This is a common trick. A simple low pass filter will smoothen the signal for you, tone might do the trick.

I’m not well versed in the ways of followers/shapers, but I can only assume it’s because your boosting the amplitude too much. I’d try writing the attackdiff values to the console to see if you spot anything crazy. You can use downsamp and printk to do this. Another useful thing to do is to write the envelopes to a sound file using fout and open them in an editor to see what’s going on. Let me know how you get on. There are some DSP gurus we can ping if we need to :+1:

Hi Rory,