Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

Trouble building Cabbage from source and question regarding Standalone Host

I’m no expert in C++ so trying to keep things simple.

Last year I made a plugin I want to distribute. Problem is that pretty much any DAW (except Reaper) doesn’t want to recognise the plugin because it isn’t verified. Which is strange because even DAWs themselves signing plugins (looking at you FLStudio) aren’t recognising the plugin. And if they do, it’s usually broken. However, on my machine everything works fine so I suspect that it’s just the verification thing.

So I sat down to figure out a workaround and the current approach is to just make some installer that uses cabbage to export the plugin on a user’s machine directly. So all versions are locally build and verified.

First thing I tried is to build a test version of Cabbage from source but the build keeps failing because of this enigmatic error:

ERROR:

Description:

Unable to copy item at path '/Users/home_mac/Desktop/Music Production/CustomPlugins/Baryonic VST/install code/cabbage-2.9.0/Cabbage.app' to '/private/tmp/fOQF9i4r/501/Installer/Applications' because the item could not be found

Suspect it’s related to some missing permissions or so but don’t know exactly. The folder title is always a random string so it gotta be a temporary folder. Anyone come across this before or got an idea how to fix that? Please let me know.

In the mean time, I found this docs article https://cabbageaudio.com/docs/standalone_host/ but it feels like it’s outdated. Anyway, I have trouble figuring out how to use/get that and its features. Is this standalone host still a thing?

Any other ideas how I could get local verification going? Trust me, it ain’t the security settings because I’ve already looked into it and my test users were able to load the plugin into some DAWs but not into others. It seems to be different on each machine too so I guess each DAW treats (un)verified software differently.