Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

Widget Rotary Slider Clicking Sounds

Hope I am in the right place. I have been working with Csound for about 6 months. Maybe someone can help me. When I turn the rotary widget slider each increment has a horrible clicking sound. I have done some research and found that maybe I should be using the linen opcode to try and take this sound out.
I have it set up so each increment is a different frequency by about 1000 khz… Now you can emagine why there would be so much popping with that much of a jump in khz. Does anyone have any suggestions on what opcodes might help with this? oh and I’m using the bqrez opcode for my filter .
Thanks everyone

Hi @DubChaos, welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

1000Hz jumps are large jumps, but there are lots of ways you can smoothen it out. The simplest is to pass the output of the slider into a portk opcode and then use its output to control the frequency. You can also use tonek which is a low pass filter for k-rate variables. If you use a very low cutoff frequency it will also smoothen the signal for you. :+1:

Okay great thank you so much. I will mess with it and see if I can get it to work right. The filter does sound really cool just those clicks. I will let you know later if I got it to work. Oh and thank you for your YouTube videos. They helped me a lot. Still have a lot to learn but it is sure fun. Thank you

1 Like

Hello Roy, I used the portk opcode and it did smooth it out quite a bit. I tried some other stuff worked also. Now I’m having trouble controlling the steps when I try it in Ableton. I’m using a x32 mixing board for my controller. It does turn the widget In Ableton but all my steps disappear. I changed some setting in the midi section of my preferences in Ableton and that didn’t work. Maybe you can give me some suggestions. I’m very new to Csound but here is an example of what I did. Thank you for your time.
;asig diskin “C:/Users/Dan/Desktop/TamaM.wav”
asig inch 1