Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

[WIP] Unamed Modular Project

Heyo! This is my first time posting here so I hope I’m doing this correctly. I’ve spent the better part of the last two days putting together a proof-of-concept thingy in the style of a modular synthesizer. Here’s a screenshot of it in it’s current state:

It essentially uses an array of global audio channels in order to communicate between each of the modules. However, everything defaults to N/A just so there isn’t a cacophony the second you start it up (and also so modules can be left inactive). I simplified a lot of the in/out code so that each module just imports the signals from the array, and can output them directly back into it. I also had to get a bit creative in terms of clearing the audio channels when there was nothing set to them, as it seemed that leaving the channels stuck at anything other than “0” would result in a pitch of random frequency/amplitude. I imagine this is probably just some aliasing issue, though, and was able to solve it pretty simply and involve that code in the custom “output” opcode so that things didn’t get too messy.

One thing that does make me sad (although this is more Csound-specific and I may just not know that there is a solution to this) is that my custom “input” opcode can only provide things in a-rate, whereas most official opcodes in Csound will let you have an option to have it provide values in a-rate or k-rate. I got around this by simply following the “input” line with a new variable of k-rate and equaling it, but it still feels a bit clunky to me. I imagine I could also just simply do k() around the input opcode, albeit I am still not very well versed in when Csound allows nesting and when it doesn’t.