Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

CSoundUnity Beginner Questions

Hi there,

I’ve been looking around for the ideal method of bringing one of my projects to life. Essentially I want to build a library of instruments and effects that can be triggered and modulated in realtime through VR interactions. Here’s a little demo of what I’m working on: vimeo.com/386364861.

CSoundUnity looks like the way to go but I’m a total beginner when it comes to CSound and DSP programming as a whole really. So I have a couple of questions before I dive in.

1. So far I’ve been working with a basic MIDI out bridge API that I can use to trigger the notes of a vsti and then send Control Changes to tweak the assigned parameters. From what I understand, the latter is doable as I can see the sliders when importing my csd instrument, but I can’t figure out (through my own testing or looking through docs/ forums) if and how I can trigger notes on the instrument. What’s the best approach for me to do this?

2. Once I have the first bit set up, will it be possible to have these plug-ins be aware of each other. For example side-chaining compressors to dynamically alter volumes and creating effects racks and busses?

Ideally I would love to have the freedom and flexibility with the audio system back-end to replicate how I work with a DAW, but obviously that won’t be an easy feat. Assuming the vision can in theory be achieved using Cabbage/ CSoundUnity, I’ll be looking for participants on the project, so please do get in touch!

2 Likes

You project looks great. So you are sending MIDI data from Unity to a host? And you want to drop the use of a separate host and do all your audio work from within Unity? If so I think CsoudUnity can be of some use here.

Instruments in Csound can be triggered via MIDI, or some simple score events. For instance, if you wanted to play MIDI note 60 from a collision event you could do something like this:

void OnCollisionEnter(Collision collision)
{