Cabbage Logo
Back to Cabbage Site

MIDI feedback from plugin to MIDI controller - Can plugin inform a mapped MIDI controller about the state of variables when they change internally without using a mouse?

Hi,

I’m new to designing plugins (using Cabbage/Csound) and I hope you can help me find a solution to my problem.
Perhaps my problem cannot be resolved with Cabbage/Csound due to any inherent limitations or perhaps the limitations may be due to Audio Unit and VST principles.
In any case your feedback or suggestions for alternative approaches would be very precious.

I’d like my plugins to send MIDI feedback (for the mapped messages) to MIDI controllers (with endless encoders) not only when I tweak plugin parameters/variables with a mouse but also when they are changed internally within the plugin. For example, pushing a button may multiply the frequency of an oscillator and update the encoder widget used to control that frequency. Such a change should inform a MIDI controller that the frequency was changed even though it was not changed with a mouse. This would set the controller at the correct new position and prevent jumping from the new (changed only within plugin but not updated in controller) to the old position when the controller is changed.